

18 November 2018

ATT: Ms. María Fernanda Espinosa Garcés,
President of the United Nations General Assembly

Your Excellency,

The organizations below are writing to urge you to work with member states to initiate as soon as possible a formalized General Assembly resolution to mandate a process for a dedicated 75th anniversary Summit for the United Nations in 2020.

We view the 75th anniversary as an important opportunity to address the current crisis in multilateralism and to involve governments and other UN stakeholders in a process of stocktaking, review and consideration of measures that strengthen the organization.

We very much appreciate the leadership that you and the Presidents of ECOSOC and the Security Council demonstrated October 31 in co-convening a "High-level Dialogue on Renewing the Commitment to Multilateralism." At that meeting you will have heard an intervention from Amb. Drobnjak (Croatia), who also noted the need for the General Assembly to take action, during the 73rd session, to determine modalities for an effective 75th anniversary commemoration and political declaration.

The UN2020 Initiative is generating interest not only from many governments, but also from a growing number of civil society networks and organizations, across sectors and regions. We recognize that, as you noted yourself when addressing the General Assembly this September, "Multilateralism is the only possible response to the global challenges we face."

To address current threats, and strengthen the United Nations, will require deliberate and determined action on the part of those of us who support multilateralism. We hope we can count on you to help initiate as soon as possible a formalized General Assembly resolution and process for a dedicated 75th anniversary Summit for the United Nations.

With thanks, our continued support and the assurances of our highest consideration,

Sincerely:

African Foundation for Environment and Development (Adeshola Afariogun)

African Philanthropic Foundation (Stephen Chacha)

Amis des Etrangers au Togo (Dosse Sossouga)

Asabe Shehu Yar'Adua Foundation (Dr. Asabe Shehu Yar'Adua)

Association for Promotion Sustainable Development (Mange Ram Adhana)

Bangladesh Model Youth Parliament (Sohanur Rahman)

Canadian Voice of Women for Peace (Janis Alton)

Citizens for Global Solutions (Donna Park)

CIVICUS (Jeffery Huffines)

Deepti Bhuban (Debasis Chowdhury Rana)

Democracy Without Borders (Andreas Bummel)

East Africa Climate Change Network (Patrick Kamotho)

Elmoustkbal Institute for Media, Policy and Strategic Studies (Amro Selim)

Emonyo Yefwe International (Luke Kapchanga)

Equidad de Género (Emilia Reyes)

Equity and Justice Society for One Plateau (Hosea Imbutuk Akujah)

Global Call to Action against Poverty (Adan Islam)

Global Voice (Earl James)

HaritaDhara Research Development and Education Foundation (Anant Bhaskar Garg)

Igarapé Institute (Adriana Abdenur and Robert Muggah)

International Alliance of Women (Joanna Manganara)

International Association for Religious Freedom – IARF South Asia (Thomas Mathew)

Justice, Aid and Development Foundation (Syed Harir Shah)

Jeunes Volontaires pour l'Environnement (Sena Alouka)

Kenana Association for Sustainable Development and Women's Empowerment (Shaima Aly)

Literate Pakistan Programme (Syed Ejaz Hussain Shah)

National Campaign for Sustainable Development – Nepal (Daya Sagar Shrestha)

NET Africa – Natural Environment Technology (Fadeke Ayoola)

PyeongChang Global Peace Forum (Anselmo Lee)

Rural Builders Organisation (Andrew Oshogwe)

Russian Association of Progressive Humanists – Российское Объединение Прогрессивных Гуманистов (Александр Федорченко)

Savannah Centre for Diplomacy, Democracy and Development (Ibrahim Gambari, Abdullahi Omaki and Moses-Ugo-Ohaegbuchi)

Scofield Associates (Muliru S. Yoni)

Soroptimist International (Bette Levy)

Terram Pacis (Joseph Hategekimana)

The Mondialists - World Citizens for the Unity of Mankind (Richard Maxheim)

The Stimson Center (Richard Ponzio)

UDYAMA (Pradeep Mahapatra)

United Nations Association – Australia (Lachlan Hunter)

United Nations Association – Denmark (Torleif Jonasson)

United Nations Association – Finland (Jenni Kauppila)

United Nations Association – Germany (Hannah Birkenkötter)

United Nations Association – UK (Natalie Samarasinghe)

United Nations Association – USA Council of Organizations (Aaron Etra)

United Nations Association – Zimbabwe (Fischer Chiyanike)

Women Coalition for Agenda 2030 (Pauline Lambou)

Workable World Trust (Nancy Dunlavy)

World Citizens Association of Australia (Chris Hamer)

World Federalist Movement – Institute for Global Policy (William R. Pace)

Youth Foundation of Bangladesh (Mohammad Safi Ul Alam)

Zimbabweanwomen5050 Trust (Bianca M. Takundwa)

^{*}This list of 51 organizations is reflective of UN2020's endorsements as of 7 January 2019 and is still open for additional signatories.